-Testimonials- 

Testimonials from our guest book, as well as from trip advisor, The green man Review and AirB&B reviews are reprinted, in full or in part, below.
Please scroll down to see what our guests are saying about circa 1894 B&B and Day Spa.
To see Trip Adviser reviews on tripadvisor, you can also click on the icon to the right.
for the full Circa 1894 "The Green man review" review, please click HERE. 
Traveller and Blogger, Lauren of justinpluslauren.com wrote a lovely piece on us, which can be found at:  http://justinpluslauren.com/ontarios-highlands-inner-wanderer/
don't forget to Scroll down to read more testimonials:


ou have created an incredible space here! It was a very relaxing and comfortable stay - just what we were looking for! Breakfast was great,      
Donna and Cam, We really loved our stay! It was a perfect stopover after a 95 km bike ride! Your hospitality went beyond our expectations! You are fabulous hosts and an exceptional chef! We will be back!  
- Jenn & Roland from Ottawa, 17 September 2017

Thank you for everything this weekend! You two have been incredibly hospitable & your home is beautiful. I would absolutely come back here.              - Louis, Jessica, Bennett, Bri & Jay Todd, from Chicago, Kansas City & NY, US - 4 September  2017will definitely be back sometime. Thanksnd all the best

You have created an incredible space here! It was a very relaxing and comfortable stay - just what we were looking for! Breakfast was great, Donna, thank you! We will definitely be back sometime. Thanks again and all the best!

                                                                                                                                                  - Alison & Larry, Foresters Falls, ON  31 Aug 2017


Thank you so much for the wonderful and relaxing stay. I thoroughly enjoyed the spa + the breakfast was so yummy. I'd love to return someday!

Your hospitality was so wonderful! Thank you for spoiling us - it was just what we needed after our road trip! I'll have to bring my partner in the not-so-far-away future.                                                                          - Lauren & Lindsay, Mississauga, ON   Aug 14, 2017 Lauren's Blog can be found here:  http://justinpluslauren.com/ontarios-highlands-inner-wanderer/

 Lauren & Linds

We couldn't have enjoyed our stay with you more. Our only hope is that next time we'll be able to spend more time. You've created a very warm and welcoming space. We couldn't help but feel relaxed!        Madison and Karen, Toronto, ON    Aug 4, 2107


We unfortunately couldn't spend as much time here as we would have liked due to our family reunion, however, we had a very restful night and your hospitality and breakfast were wonderful. Thanks                          - Gary and Mary, Lindsay, ON   30 July 2017 

Donna and Cam, You have created a lovely retreat here! Thank you so much for accommodating our needs on the weekend of my son's marriage. You're the best!                                                                                                                Randy M, from Ottawa 25 July 2017

Thank you for a good night's sleep and a great breakfast. What a peaceful place to be! - Lindsay & Mark, from London 25 June 2017

This is the best way to treat oneself when hubby and his best friends are on a 5-day canoe trip! I had a special time recharging, de-toxing, relaxing. My favourite moment was at the pine Finnish tub with the top not completely open, going under the dripping water and feeling like being under a waterfall. I'm already planning days to come back with friends and family. All the best. THANK YOU!                                                                                                                                                - Bel, from Ottawa area 21 June 2017

We loved our stay!! The tubs, the quiet & the super inspiring conversation about the church renovations were the perfect way to celebrate our engagement! Thank you Donna & Cam for sharing your passions with us! We leave with a spark of possibility and excitement for our future!                                                                                                                 - Emilie & Jon, from Ottawa 18 June 2017

and on AirBnB, Emilie wrote: “What we loved most about our stay was the care & passion put into Donna & Cam's place! The Moon Room + shared B+B common area are super sweet and comfortable. A cooler was at our disposal to keep a few items fresh. The renovated church space (where our tasty homemade breakfast was served) is very inspiring and made us want to move in. We enjoyed our quiet evening in the outdoor tubs and the overall sense of peace Circa 1894 and its remote location offers. A quaint and unique B+B experience! ”

Donna & Cam Thank you for being such wonderful hosts at Circa 1894 B&B and Day Spa. We thoroughly enjoyed your hospitality and the experience of your spa. You have made our 23rd anniversary a weekend to remember! We hope to visit again in the near future!                                                                                                                                             - Mario & Sheila, from Ottawa 11 June 2017

Thank you for opening your beautiful slice of quiet for us and making the exception for Daria. We thoroughly enjoyed the night. The spa was an extra benefit of relaxing time we weren't expecting. Enjoyed learning of your build and the great breakfast and your welcome hospitality. We will definitely be back and speak with Cam also about building!! Thanks.

                                                                                                                                               - Andy, Luba and Daria, from Oakville 4 June 2017

My awesome group of friends arranged a girls weekend to celebrate my retirement. From the first moment, we were welcomed by Donna and Cam and made to feel at home. The weather was warm and we used the hot tubs and saunas and totally relaxed with a glass of wine in hand. Lunch and breakfast were delicious and we all slept so well. Thank you for making this experience special

                                                                                                         - Val, Kathie, Linda, Renee and Calline, from Ottawa area 29 May 2017

Thank you Donna! We loved every minute of our stay and all the special touches were so appreciated.                                                                                                                                                         Carolyn, Christina, Eve, Katie & Kelsey, from Kingston, ON 20 May 2017

The ladies had the most relaxing time, all thanks to you! It was better than we could have expected and we will surely be back! Thank you!                                                                                                              The ladies of RST Law, from Kingston, ON 20 May 2017

Such a peaceful atmosphere. Thank you! The reclaimed materials and sustainability efforts are great :-)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                Ivan, from Toronto 7 May 2017

Thank you Donna and Cam for being such gracious and welcoming hosts! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will hope for sunshine next time.                                                              - Alicia & Jamie, Glenn and Wei, Anna and Ivan, from Toronto 7 May 2017

Your beautiful, visionary abode has provided us with a lovely, memorable 25th Anniversary. Thank you for the gentle and heartfelt welcome. Thank you for the nourishment which you have provided for body, heat and soul. Blessings to you both.                                                                                                                                                 - Eleanor & Judith, from Kashwakamak Lake 3 May 2017

Sincere thanks for all the loving care at the beginning and end of my 70th birthday.       - Bob & Joan, from Goderich 3 May 2017

What a treat! Beautiful wood - warm flooring, snow outside, hot tubs during the snow. So quiet. Thanks a bunch. 

                                                                                                                                                                            - Steve, from Guelph 2 April 2017

So happy we finally made it to your amazing B&B and Spa. Lovely energy - I slept amazingly and great food and I love the natural beauty everywhere. Wonderful to talk again. Will send all my friends your way, love                   - Vera, from Guelph 2 April 2017

(Trip Advisor Review) My spouse took me away to this absolutely wonderful little spot this past weekend to celebrate my impending birthday. We have never done a B&B so this was a brand new experience for us. Making this adventure even better was the fact that there was a spa attached to it. When we arrived Donna greeted us at the door and instantly made us feel at home. She gave us a tour, walked us through all of the amenities and got us settled into our quaint room. Once we were ready she brought us out to the spa area and introduced us to their IR sauna and wooden hot tub. Both were simply wonderful, soothing and peaceful! Of course, Donna, being the consummate host, ensured we constantly had water with us to keep hydrated and talked us through the therapeutics that we were experiencing.

After our spa time we settled back into our room and awaited a special dinner my spouse had pre-arranged with Donna. A knock on the door introduced us to her partner Cam who came with greetings and the daily newspaper. It had been so long since I read a paper, what a treat!!

Dinner was incredible. We started with a soup and had we stopped there I would have said we got more than our money's worth. I have travelled the world and am enamoured with soup, this was the best I have ever tasted. Dinner was a vegan meal (I am an avid meat-eater) and was absolutely superb! I would never dream of ordering a vegan meal but this was a wonderful shepherds pie. As we basked in the awesomeness of our full bellies Donna and Cam suddenly appeared with two pieces of amazing carrot cake with candles on them and sang me happy birthday. Honestly, what could be round out our visit better than that? Breakfast could!
For breakfast Donna and Cam invited us into their home and we shared breakfast with them and another couple also staying at Circa 1894. We had a wonderful meal, amazing conversation and learned that both Donna and Cam have led extraordinary lives that kept the stories coming until we finally had to leave. They are superb hosts, exceptionally friendly and the story of the creation of the B&B is worth the visit.

Insofar as amenities are concerned there is everything you could need from TV to a coffee maker, even towels, so please don't think you need to pack the car full to go there. Internet is a bit spotty so we brought a puzzle to do but if you are anything like us the quiet alone time was worth its weight in gold

I would definitely come here again and would highly recommend Circa 1894 to our friends and family. 
Thank you Donna and Cam!                                                                                                                                        - Brock H. March 7, 2017

Thank you both for a wonderful relaxing get-away for the night. Not only was the spa a great treat, but your hospitality, stories and amazing meals are definitely worth coming back for. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Cheers                                                                                                                                                                                               - Brock and Natalie, from Beckwith, ON 5 March 2017

We can't thank you enough for your hospitality. It was the perfect relaxing kid-free get-away :-). Can't wait to plan another weekend away. Your B&B is a little treasure and the spa just adds that extra special touch. Thank you Cam & Donna - till we meet again (hopefully soon :-))                                                                                                  - Jen & RichardBeckwith, ON 26 February 2017

Absolutely Amazing!! This place is a showpiece!! So relaxing and rejuvenating!! Thank you Donna & Cam for your warm hospitality. We will be back!!                                                                                              - Kathie & Dan McGOntario 20 February 2017

                     

Thanks for sharing your charming residence; loved hearing about the Kijiji sources and loved all the family connections Donna!                                                                                                                                                                           - Anne RBancroft 13 February 2017

Beautiful Place. Beautiful Souls! Came for a business retreat & solitude weekend. I'm so grateful I did. Thank you Donna & Cam for being great hosts. See you again in the not too distant future :-)                                                       - Reena, Ottawa, January 29, 2017

[From AirBnB] Donna and Cam were lovely hosts and made sure we were well taken care of. We were the only guests that weekend and had such a great time enjoying the hot tub at night, and just relaxing by the fire curled up. The bed was super comfortable and the facilities were amazing. The morning reiki treatment and sauna made my weekend. Thank you so much and we can't wait to return.                                                                                                                                                          - Ashleigh, Kingston, 1 January 2017

Donna & Cam were very gracious hosts. Accommodation and breakfast were superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay and hope we can come back at some future date. Thanks                                                   - Mike & PhyllisBelleville, ON 11 Nov. 2016

Thank you for a lovely stay! Very relaxing! Breakfast was great! Thanks!     -  Rick & Cathy S., from Zurich, ON 11 November 2016

 

"...where you can soak all day in alternating cool and warm hot tubs, or curl up in front of a fire to read..." - excerpt from The Greenman Review on Circa 1894 B&B, by Camille Alexa

 

Thanks for the great hospitality!                                                                                              -   Judie C. from St. Louis, MO, Oct. 31, 2016 

What a peaceful delightful spot...and wonderful food & visits!                                      - Bob & Joan, Goderich, ON, October 31, 2016

Thank You Donna & Cam.

It was calm & relaxful to spend our wedding night. You have a beautiful place here. I am overjoyed with all the work you have done here. I am so happy with the visuals. BEAUTIFUL.                                       - Steph & Adam, from Lanark, ON, October 16, 2016                                            

[From Trip Advisor]: Circa 1894 gets my stamp of approval! a Must experience B&B and Spa I enjoyed this B&B and spa so much with my husband that I went back the following month with a friend... the owners are truly delightful, the food is excellent, the spa experience was wonderful! and the beds allowed for a great night's sleep.                     - Sherry N. Montreal, QC, 18th Sept 2016 

 

[From TripAdvisor]: "Spaaaatacular!!! Donna and Cam are both charming and have a serene presence that makes you feel already so familiar and relaxed at first introductions. Donna is a fabulous cook and breakfast is a filling and delightful treat. The three hot tubs and saunas will relax your tired bones to snuggle in for a most restful nights sleep. Enjoy!! Nancy B., Toronto, ON Sep 14, 2016

[From Airbnb]: We stayed here, because it was nearby a wedding we were attending, and we were so glad to have made it a long weekend of relaxation. Donna went out of her way to make us feel welcome, and was very on point with checking in, and giving the right mix of alone time, as well, as being hospitable and sharing a bit about herself and her journey to creating this fabulous place. She also cooked up and absolutely lovely breakfast every morning, and a wonderful dinner for one of the days that we were staying there.

[and from our comment book]: This was the perfect reset getaway. We were in town for a wedding, and thought to make a little holiday of it. Donna and Cam were such lovely hosts and so accommodating, with great conversation and made us feel truly welcome and comfortable.                                                                                                  - Anj & Manu, from Toronto 5 September 2016

We love the place and company                                                                                              - Pat & Rose, Peterborough  August 26, 2016

A peaceful atmosphere and furnishings of yesteryear made for a delightful stay on the occasion of our 25th Anniversary. Thank You.                                                                                                                                        - Percy and Mary, Pembroke, ON 26 August 2016

Pixie, Tina and the film crew - we had a great stay and enjoyed our relaxed spa night after being on the road for awhile. It was a nice treat. Thank you Donna & Cam. Watch the finished "Pragutopia" if you can. Thank You!               -Tina, Ottawa, August 8/16

Donna & Cam - Thank you so much. We will be back. -      Sheryl & Rhea (Tom's cousin and wife), Los Angeles, CA, August 8, 2016

May God continue to Bless You in all you do. This is a joyful & relaxing home away from home. Our warm regards. Rev. Perry & Doris, Peterborough area. August 4, 2016.

Amazing relaxing environment with wonderful hosts. Thanks you! A wonderful night away; filled with good food & relaxation. I love your cooking & the thought that goes into every aspect of your business. We will be back. 

[From TripAdvisor]: A great location Great environment: quiet and local. Amazing home cooked meals. Most of the food is locally sourced. Loved the spa and the sauna's. Clean friendly and environmentally friendly. Donna makes the whole experience inviting and accommodating.                                                                                                           - Ang and Les, Smiths Falls, Aug. 3, 2016

[From TripAdvisor]: Fine Place for a Stay In the highly unlikely event that you need to be in this part of the world, there are precious few places to stay. Circa 1894 recently opened as a B&B and it's a fine place to stay. Donna is a wonderful host, and cooks up a delicious home made breakfast with the best preserves made by her cousin in Nova Scotia. She was most accommodating in having two different breakfasts (one far healthier, and one heartier) in the renovated old church that is their residence.

Beds are super comfortable, the rooms are well appointed, and I slept soundly for two nights here. We were unable to take advantage of the spa facilities, so no comment on that, but the decks would be a lovely place to spend a bit of time.

There's wi-fi (the password need to be asked for, as I didn't find it anywhere written down when we came in) to avoid the painfully slow mobile internet connection for those that have a need to search for pokemon in the area (I don't). 

Looking forward to staying there again next year. One small thing -- just so you know -- the rooms aren't too acoustically separate -- just so you know.... Great Stay!                                                                                                                     - Steve & Denise, 1 August 2016

[Owner's note: Thank you Steve and Denise for the kudos. We look forward to seeing you again next year. For the record, for those wondering about noise transmission, while two of the guest rooms do share a wall, the walls are soundproofed.] 

lovely! hospitality+++ Thanks for hosting us :-) -                                                                                 - Gail & Nancy, Toronto, Aug. 1, 2016

Thanks Donna & Cam. A wonderful, relaxing time. Breakfast was terrific...We will be back. Good chat too.!! - Roger and Leanne, 1 August 2016

Thanks Donna, for such a relaxing (and cathartic) stay. It was a totally unexpected treasure. You have a beautiful home! Best Breakfast ever! ***** Cheers,                                                                                                                -  Lauren & Kim, Toronto, 27 July 2016

Such a pleasure to meet you both. Thank you so much for welcoming us into your home. A true pleasure!           - Stacey & Luca, Calgary 26 Jul, 2016

[From Airbnb]: Donna was so great! The spa is really relaxing and she made us feel welcome every step of the way. Breakfast was insanely delicious too. Neighborhood was small and quiet.                                                            - Lynn & Deb from S. ON, 18 July 2016

[From Airbnb]: Outstanding!! the location and amenities here offer a very relaxing healing time... this is a hidden Gem in the Ottawa Area... Great for the soul!! The only thing better was the treatment by our wonderful hosts, Cam and Donna, a delightful couple. Focused and attentive to our needs and wishes. Joy and I had a marvelous time. Not only do I highly recommend this place, I will become a regular guest!!                                                                                                                         - Paul and Joy, Ottawa, July 2016

Thank-you for a beautiful place to stay and the good food. I had a wonderful time.                   - Gloria G, Saskatchewan, 6 July 2016

Thank you Donna & Cam - Staying here made our trip for our son's wedding all the more special!                - James and Lorraine S., Saskatchewan, 6 July 2016

Lovely accommodation, people & food! We'll undoubtedly be back.                                                   - Paul & Sue, Ottawa, 19 June 2016

Thanks for all the hard work and love you put into hosting, Donna! We are so grateful to have you as a member of our community and wish you the best as you continue your hosting journey with us!                                          - Miranda and your friends at Airbnb

[From Airbnb]: We spent one night in Donna's B&B place by incident ( while our previous booking was cancelled by the host illegally and Airbnb customer service found it for us), so we had to drive for another 1.30+ hours after hours of driving from Toronto and we felt frustrated . We got there near midnight, but everything was set up already and we received a truly warm welcome from Donna and her lovely husband. We were impressed by their excellent job in renovating there using green technology. They prepared a delicious breakfast and spent their time describing their projects. My son played the old organ instrument! We just felt as our own home and loved Donna and her husband as our own family members. Thank you so much and looking forward to seeing you again.                                                                                                                 - Hamid and family, May, 2016

This a great place to escape the city, relax in the tubs and get a massage. Spend the night and wake to a huge breakfast. Nothing was missed, great hosts and wonderful conversations. We'll be back :-).                                                  - Sutton's, Ottawa, April 24/16

Absolutely lovely! Gracious & very accommodating hostess. Serene & welcoming. Delicious breakfast!! Wendy, Ottawa, 24 Apr 16

Lovely ambiance. We really enjoyed our time here.                                                                           - Eddie and Cara, Ottawa, April 16/16

What a delight! Serene energy here, amazing massage, great saunas and tubs and healthy, tasty meals. Thank you for a most restorative stay, Donna & Cam. You have an oasis here.                                                                         - Chris, Almonte, ON, March 17/16

[Chris' review on TripAdviser]: Restorative Retreat - Oasis in Lanark A friend and I had a "girlfriend" reunion at Circa 1894 this week. We only stayed one night but it felt like we'd had a complete spa holiday. Donna and Cam have done an amazing job turning a church into a sacred and beautiful B&B spa retreat. The bedrooms are cosy with lovely, comfortable beds. There are two guest rooms that open out to a private sitting area/kitchenette with TV and wall-mounted fireplace. The kitchenette is thoughtfully equipped with everything you need to make a snack or beverage. 

The spa is in the same building as the suite. Indoors, there are change rooms, a tranquil sitting area with a fireplace and waterfall wall where gentle music creates a relaxed quiet area for reading and relaxing. Adjoining the sitting area is a massage/treatment room and two saunas. Outside, on three levels of decks, are two hot tubs and a steam sauna. The saunas and hot tubs are totally rejuvenating. 

The entire place is sparkling clean and brand new. Cam and Donna are masters of recycling and green design and construction. They have artfully restored and redesigned a former church with custom woodworking, expert craftsmanship and an eye for building, salvaging, furnishing and gathering the perfect recycled materials, fixtures and decor items to create a most inviting and serene space to restore body, mind and soul. 

We enjoyed a tasty lunch and wholesome dinner during our stay. The food is home-made from local products and Donna and Cam do everything possible to make you feel relaxed and spoiled. The spa can be booked for a few hours or you can spend several days being treated to total pampering in the first-rate facilities. We each had a deep tissue massage with Christa, an RMT and she skilfully worked out all our stress knots. 

We were not expecting to find such well equipped spa with an array of treatments and luxurious, serene amenities in Lanark. Our stay was a total delight. Thanks Donna and Cam for sharing your cathedral of restoration with us. We'd recommend this as a getaway for couples, girlfriends or by yourself for several hours or days any time of the year!

What a lovely March break getaway! This was exactly what I needed - relaxing spas, wonderful food - and lovely hosts. Thanks you so much, Donna & Cam.                                                                                                                                         - Diane, Oshawa, March 17/16

Thank you so much Donna & Cam. We loved our stay and really appreciated our quiet time in the hot tub together. Breakfast and the conversation was wonderful too. We will definitely pass along the good word about this place.      - Lindsay, Perth, Jan 25/16

We had a wonderful relaxing experience, enjoyed the spa, food and lots of bridge. Thanks Donna and Cam.      - Bridge Ladies of Kingston, ON, Jan 20/16.

We spent one night at this B&B and we were so happy with it. Donna and Cam were very warm, friendly and welcoming. The area is so quiet and peaceful and enjoying the hot tub with my husband outside on the deck under the stars was perfect. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We loved our homemade breakfast as well. Donna made alot of small little added touches (like homemade sauces, organic foods, good strong coffee just the way we like!, etc) We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to have some quiet time away. Thanks again Donna and Cam! -                                                           Lindsay, Jan 2016

Thank you Donna & Cam for a terrific stay. We appreciate having the opportunity to truly relax and not worry about a thing. Everything was exceptional.                                                                                         - Pamela & Yves T., from Ottawa, December 6, 2015 

An amazing place and amazing owners. Everything from the tea upon arrival to a wonderful spa experience, delicious dinner & breakfast, comfortable bed and great conversation with Donna & Cam! Can't wait to visit again. Thank you Donna & Cam. - Debbie C., from Montreal, November 28, 2015

What a wonderful place. I am so happy to know that it exists so close to home and is accessible to come spend time relaxing. The B&B was all we could have hoped for, the food was amazing and Donna and Cam, thank you for the company during meals. We will be back, without a doubt. It was wonderful to meet you both, you are truly beautiful people and you made our weekend one we’ll never forget...                                                                                                                   -  Kristine & Dave, from Lanark, ON 18 October 2015

My sister, husband and I all are most impressed by this beautiful accommodation and spa! Thanks for providing supper as well as breakfast in your beautiful living area. Glad to know it's so environmentally friendly and well made. Loved the hot tub and massage! All the best with all your plans.                                                - Ilene, John and Belle, from Toronto, Canada 16 October 2015

A wonderful stay with wonderful hosts!                                                                             - Rich and Mary, from Ontario 11 October 2015

My time at the Circa 1894 B&B and Day Spa was wonderful. Donna is a delightful, warm and friendly hostess. She accommodated my food allergies. My breakfast was scrumptious! The evening hot tub experience, under the stars, was relaxing and rejuvenating. After the tub, I tucked into the cozy 'moon' room and had a lovely night's sleep. A perfect getaway! - Genny Allan, from Toronto, Ontario 8 October 2015

Awesome. - Shirley S., from Ontario 3 October 2015

Enjoyed the time spent here & great to see the use of a church building.                             - Dorothy M, from Ontario 3 October 2015

Totally awesome. Love your idea of renovating old church.                                                         - Terry R, from Ontario 3 October 2015

"Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - loved the SPA. Enjoyed Donna & Cam's company - great food & ambiance. We'll be back!!" Sherry, Montreal, QC. - 27 September 2015

Wonderful! Thanks.                                                                                                                        - Maureen R. Hampton, NB - 27 August 2015